Skip to content

Annie Dillard on broadaxes

January 31, 2013

“How many of you, I asked the people in my class, which of you want to give up your lives and be writers?…(Why do I want them to mean it?) And then I tried to tell them what the choice must mean: you can’t be anything else. You must go at your life with a broadax…They had no idea what I was saying. (I have two hands don’t I? And all this energy, for as long as I can remember. I’ll do it in the evenings, after skiing, or on the way home from the bank, or after the children are asleep…) They thought I was raving again. It’s just as well.”

“Holy the Firm”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

