Skip to content

Nezua Limón Xolagrafik-Jonez on the sometimes-skinlessness of artists:

February 12, 2010

“I am far too empathetic….no, I am far too sensitive or “nervous” in the sense of the Nervous System’s sensitivity, to sit and weather a flood of anger that is angled all over and just shaking like a boxcar full of broken picture frames as it rains down over my face. I get freaked out and end up yelling at the person. Telling them to calm down. It’s too much. I know. I’m not saying I’m normal. Sometimes I feel like a tuning fork.”

(via a post about something else on The Unapologetic Mexican, but one of the best summaries of the difficulties of empathy/the ‘artistic temperament’/creative permeability – what I tend to just call the ‘skinlessness’ of artists –  I’ve seen)
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

